What word iso stands for?

ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is the world’s largest organization for developing International Standards. Help set modern standards for products, services, and practices that enhance industry performance and efficiency.

You are viewing: What is the abbreviation for Iso?

This NGO is built on worldwide consensus that ISO standards help break down barriers to international trade.

History begin

An organization called the National Standards Federation (ISA) has been in existence since 1926. It was suspended in 1942 during World War II, but after World War the ISA was adopted by the United Nations Standards Coordinating Committee (UNSC) proposes the creation of a new global standards body.

In October 1946 ISA and UNSCC from 25 countries met at the Institute of Civil Engineers in London and decided to create a new International Organization for Standardization.

On February 23, 1947, ISO organization officially came into operation.

See also: Download Free Android Football Game, Download Online Football Game

Due to the official name of the organization “International Organization for Standardization” has different abbreviations in different languages ​​(IOS in English, OIN in French – stands for the phrase Organization internationale de normalization), so the founders of the organization decided to name the organization ISO. This often leads to the misunderstanding that ISO is International Standards Organization.

ISO is not an acronym but a derivative of the Ancient Greek word “isos” ἴσος, which means equality. In any country, in any language, the organization’s initials are always ISO

Currently, ISO has 163 members who are national standards bodies of countries. The ISO Central Secretariat located in Geneva, Switzerland is responsible for coordinating the organizational system.

Vietnam, represented by the General Department of Standards, Metrology, and Quality, has joined ISO since 1977 and has made certain contributions to this organization.

ISO provides common standards for industrial and commercial management globally, and the ISO standard that we most often encounter is the ISO 9001 standard.

See also: What is Leave For – Leave Sth For/To Sb

What is ISO 9001?


5 versions of Iso

ISO 9001 is a system of standards for product quality management recognized worldwide. Obtaining ISO 9001 certification proves that the business has implemented an effective quality management system and meets the requirements of the standard

Since its inception in 1987, the ISO 9001 series of standards has 5 versions:

ISO 9001:1987ISO 9001:1994ISO 9001:2000ISO 9001:2008ISO 9001:2015

ISO 9001:2015


ISO 9001:2015 standard has 10 clauses

1. Scope2. References 3. Terms and definitions 4. Organizational context 5. Leadership 6. Planning 7. Support 8. Activity 9. Performance Evaluation 10. Improve

An improvement of ISO 9001:2015 compared to previous versions is the approach to risk-based thinking. Helps the organization to identify factors that may cause the organization’s management systems and processes to deviate from planned results. Put in place preventive controls to minimize negative impacts and make the most of opportunities. Change in quality management principles, including:

– Customer focus- Leadership- Involvement of people- Process approach- Improvement- Evidence-based decisions- Relationship management

September 2018 the old ISO will expire. Currently, domestic enterprises are actively in the process of converting the quality management system ISO 9001: 2008 to ISO 9001: 2015.


About Troubleinthepeace

Troubleinthepeace specializing in synthesizing information about daily life activities

View all posts by Troubleinthepeace →

Trả lời

Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai.